Waking Up

via Daily Prompt: Distant

It’s so far away. The dull sound.

Beep, beep beep, beep beep. It’s getting louder and faster.

Answer that damn phone. Turn off the alarm. Anybody, make that noise stop.

It’s not a phone. It’s louder, from the distance, and it’s in my ears, deafening.

Where am I? How long have I been out?

Staring up at the ceiling, I see a pouch of clear fluid hanging above me. I feel the pinches in my skin and in my nerves. I’m sore, everywhere. This IV fluid dripping through these tubes serve me a stale smell and taste in my mouth that I can’t escape.

The sound is here, and I realize I don’t want it to stop, because that will mean that I am dead. This heart monitor is now a sweet melody that I welcome.

I’m torn between feeling grateful that I’m alive and the pounding feeling that I wish I weren’t. The pain. It’s heavy. It doesn’t stop, and it’s increasing as I become slowly more aware.

To get here, it was worth it, all of it, and I’d do it all over again, the exact same way.

I am awake.

Whatcha gotta say 'bout this!

